Guide to SFPL Resources: Academic resources

A broad range of scientific disciplines with extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, science experiments, and interactive simulations, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, and physics.

Covering the connections between the environment and the disciplines of agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.

A collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender with material from the sixteenth century to the modern day and from around the world.

Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with some archival material.

Unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, this is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Gives a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time.

Digital access to current and historical copies of the San Francisco Chronicle from 1865 to the present.

More than 43,000 photographs of San Francisco and California scenes.

Historical SF books and government documents, including City Directories and Municipal Reports.

A collection of full-text California historical newspapers from 1847-2017.

Access to historical California newspapers such as the Berkeley Daily Gazette, Oakland Tribune, San Mateo Times, and many others.

Provides a comprehensive collection of reliable American news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues, both current and historical

Popular digital magazine titles from The Atlantic to Us Weekly. Stream online from a computer or download them to a smartphone or tablet using the mobile app for offline reading.

Search the most collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Has archives going back to the 1980's.

A collection of 4000 newspapers and magazines from 100 countries in 60 languages, many providing same day publication with a 60-day back file.

Stream popular magazines on demand or download them to a mobile device for offline reading. Titles are also available in Spanish, Chinese, Italian, Vietnamese, and French.

Articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, and editorials covering a wide range of art subjects

Covers all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.

A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.

Music journalism from the 1960s to the present, including audio interviews.

Search all the Alexander Street music and performing arts streaming databases in one place: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.