Activity instructions
You and your small group research the origins, geography, population (historical and current), economic importance, demographics, historical and present day significance of your assigned Mexican colonial era city. Make a copy of this slide deck.
Your group should look at one article from Encyclopedia Britannica, one article from the Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, and a specific article from the Oxford Research Encyclopedias (Urbanization and Environment in Mexico since 1521: Cities and Environment in the Colony)
Once you have put together your slidedeck, discuss with your group:
- What were the differences between the sources you looked at?
- What source(s) did you find most useful and why?
Colonial cities of Mexico
Encyclopedia Britannica & Gale Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
In Encyclopedia Britannica search for the name of your assigned colonial city.
-
Gale eBooks: Latin American CollectionThese encyclopedias are specific to Latin America and include good information about the history of Mexico.
In your search results prioritize looking at the entry in the Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. After you look at that result you can look at others.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias (ORE) This link opens in a new windowIn-depth encyclopedia entries on a wide variety of topics from politics to public health, climate science to linguistics.
In this source you will want to look at one specific article: Urbanization and Environment in Mexico since 1521--Cities and Environment in the Colony.
There is information about each assigned city, but you will need to seek it out (try command + F, then search for the city's name).