European Primary Sources
This page contain many books and websites that we have found useful for finding primary sources about European History. Databases will require you to log in using your UHS username and password. Websites are on the open internet. Books will be found in our library or others.
Databases
- Original Sources This link opens in a new windowOriginal Sources provides primary sources and personal accounts from U.S. and world history about social, political, legal, and religious development, as well as some of the greatest discoveries, insights, and literary achievements in the words of the actual authors, discoverers, and knowledge-seekers.
Websites
- EurodocsThis site indexes online primary and secondary sources on European history. Curated by the library at BYU. Not everything will be in English.
- European History Primary SourcesIndexes primary sources put together by the European University Institute. You can browse by country, language, period, subject, and type of source.
- Internet Modern History SourcebookLook down the list in the left hand navigation bar to find the era/country that you're interested in.
- Library of CongressThe Library of Congress has many primary sources including historical newspapers, prints and photographs, maps and pamphlets. Includes a surprsing number of documents from other countries. One source I like is the Cartoon Print repository (cartoons count as primary sources).
- World Digital LibraryThis link takes you directly to their European documents.
- German History in Documents and ImagesReally helpful website with lots of German documents translated into English.
- British History OnlineA digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. Not everything is accessible without a subscription.
Books
The UHS Library has a number of books with primary sources on Europe and North America. Check out this list. The list shows many of the primary source books available in our Primary Sources collection which is just opposite the front desk. It also includes links to some online sources. If you don't see what you need, try searching in the library catalog for your topic and 'sources'.
And if you're still drawing a blank, ask Nicole or Hayley for help - we love digging up primary sources!
Not on campus? Here are some books you can access online that have primary sources:
Readings in European history, Volume OneThis book contains primary sources from the breaking up of the Roman empire (300) to the Protestant revolt (1500). The full text is available on Open Library and linked from the above title.
Readings in European history, Volume TwoThis book contains primary sources from the opening of the Protestant revolt (1500) to 1902. The full text is available on Open Library and linked from the above title.
Readings in modern Europe, Volume OneThis book contains excerpts of primary sources from the eighteenth century from the French Revolution to the Napoleanic period. Similar to the Readings in European history, but more in-depth to the 18th and 19th centuries. The full text is available on Open Library and linked from the above title.
Readings in modern Europe, Volume TwoThis book contains excerpts of primary sources from the Congress of Vienna to the early 20th century. Similar to the Readings in European history, but more in-depth to the 18th and 19th centuries. The full text is available on Open Library and linked from the above title.
Discourses of Collective Identity in Central and Southeast Europe (1770-1945)Available through QuestiaSchool (user name: full school email address, password: sfuhs) - click on the link. This volume has documents pertaining to Nationalism.