General searching
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is essentially Google searching applied only to books and articles in the academic realm. Sometimes you will be able to access full text through these links, but this search is best used for compiling a list of things that you want to search for.
- Ulrich's Periodical SearchVia the SF Public Library you can search for the name of a periodical (journal, magazine, etc.) and find out what database carries that title. You will need to have your SFPL library card and PIN.
Finding articles in print
If you cannot access an article through UHS, SFPL, or other online sources, you can often get a print copy of the article. I have found these two methods helpful:
- SFPLWhen searching an article or journal in the SFPL databases, they will often lead you through to the the print holdings. If they have the volume/year that you are looking for I recommend calling the Main Library and asking for the Magazines/Newspapers Desk. The number is (415) 557-4400.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL) via SFPLSFPL will request a copy of an article that you cannot access through their services. You will need to have an SFPL card and fill out the linked form with as much information as you can provide.
Databases
- Gale Academic OneFile (requires SFPL card) This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Proquest This link opens in a new window
These three databases are good sources for academic articles that you can access directly through UHS. When you use these links you can authenticate from anywhere and search their holdings. I find that advanced searching limiting to full-text is helpful.
- SFPL Article SearchThe San Francisco Public Library subscribes to a wide spectrum of databases and has a service that allows you to search across databases. You will need an SFPL card to access their databases.
Books
- UHS Library CatalogYou can search our library catalog, although most of our resources lean towards history books and popular non-fiction.
- SFPL CatalogOften surprises me with their holdings of books that are more academic in nature. Always worth a try, if nothing else it will lead you to Link+ (see below).
- Link +LINK+ is a collective catalog of books from participating libraries in California and Nevada. You can request any book not available at your home library and it will be delivered to your local branch. The loan period for books is 21 days with one 21-day renewal.
