SFPL Databases
San Francisco Public Library databases
Use your SFPL card number and PIN to access these databases:
- Science OnlineA broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
- Gale in Context: ScienceWith a San Francisco Public Library card and PIN you can access this excellent online resource!
- Academic Search CompleteUse the Advanced Search feature to get articles and videos on your topic. This database includes the Journal of Materials Science.
UHS databases
- EBSCO Books This link opens in a new windowSearch for your topic and focus area, for example "plastics and environment" or "chemicals and clothing" to find books. Look in the table of contents to find chapters specific to your project.
- Proquest This link opens in a new windowSearch Proquest using the filter for magazines, newspapers and (if you want) scholarly journals. There are a few science specific publications (limited access to Science News and New Scientist archives are available), but this source is good for solid science reporting from publications like the New York Times.
Reliable sources for popular science articles
- Science NewsYou can read archives on Proquest (above) from January 1992 to April 18, 2015. If you are looking for an article outside of these dates email Nicole.
- Chemical & Engineering NewsSolid sources found under Topics and Magazine. Create an account to view 5 articles free each month.
- Environmental Working GroupThe Environmental Working Group’s mission is to empower people to live healthier lives in a healthier environment. Through research and education, inform the public about environmental risks and encourage civic action. There are articles about environmental health issues and information on specific chemicals.
- New York Times: ScienceScience reporting from the New York Times. All UHS students can sign up for free NYTimes account. Visit nytimes.com/passes and create your account using your school email address. Ask one of the librarians if you have any trouble.
- Compound InterestThis infographics on this site explore all sorts of chemical compounds. Scroll down this page to find the category relevant to your topic.
Cite your work
- Noodletools This link opens in a new windowYou can use Noodletools to cite your sources for this project just remember to use MLA Advanced.
- Using Noodletools to Cite Your SourcesThis page will remind you how to log into Noodletools to track your sources.
- How to write an annotationCheck out this page for a refresher on how to write an annotation.
Using Google
Searching on the open web via Google or another search engine is our go-to instinct. We get it. When searching the open web keep the following in mind:
Word order matters! Google takes into account the way you have typed in your search. Try searching "fashion chemistry" vs. "chemistry fashion." When I do these searches the first result for both is the same, but after that the first search has more science related result and the second more fashion related results.
Operators: Google offers many ways to create advanced searches using various operators that tell the search engine more specifically what you are looking for.
- Quotation marks around exact phrases.
- Use OR to include like phrases (sneakers OR "tennis shoes")
- By using the operator site: you can get Google to look on a specific site or type of site (site:cen.acs.org or just site:org)
- You can eliminate results by using a minus sign and the word you do NOT want in your search. You can also do this to exclude certain types of domains (i.e. .com) There should be no space before the eliminated word. (chemistry air pollution -.com)
- You can also specify that certain words must be in the text of your results (furniture intext:"chemical hazards")
Sorting through results:
- When looking at your search results, look at the title, the excerpt below the title and the URL.
- Can you determine what the site is? If so, do you think it is reliable?
- Do the title and excerpt make the page seem relevant to your project idea?'
- Once on the site, if it is an unfamiliar organization check the About Us section.
- If the site seems reliable and relevant look around by browsing the menus or searching on the site for more information relevant to your topic.