What is a reference source?
A reference source will give you a quick and simple overview of a subject. It will probably be an article in a large book or database. It is organized to include:
- definitions, synonyms
- basic factual information
- overview or guide to a subject
- maps
- statistics, charts, tables
Recognizing a reference source
Reference works can be print books, ebooks or databases (a database is a collection of pre-selected resources). They will often have one of these words in the title:
- Almanac
- Atlas
- Dictionary or Biographical Dictionary
- Directory
- Encyclopedia
- Factbook
- Gazetteer (a geographical dictionary)
- Handbook
- Statistics
- Thesaurus
- Yearbook
Finding a reference source
These two encyclopedias are available in print and as eBooks. Click on the links below to go straight to the eBooks.
Encyclopedia of Modern China by Call Number: R 951 ModernPublication Date: 2009Covers all aspects of the history and culture of China since 1800.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia by Call Number: R 950 LevPublication Date: 2002Covers all aspects of modern Asia - economics, religion, technology, politics, education, the arts, environmental issues, international relations, and scientific advances.
The SAGE Handbook of Contemporary ChinaPublication Date: 2018The articles in this encyclopedia are quite long, so skim through them to find information relevant to your topic.
- Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new windowThis is a general encyclopedia that may have an article on your topic.