LibGuides: Guide to Researching San Francisco: Finding periodicals

Finding journals and magazines: UHS databases

The best place to look for journals and magazine articles for your research paper is through the UHS library databases (a database is an organized collection of pre-selected resources):

Proquest This link opens in a new window
Access to full text periodicals-- contemporary academic journals, magazines, and newspapers and historical newspapers (New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of academic journals offering scholarly research on a variety of subjects. The place to go when your research is well underway and you know what you are looking for.
Gale Academic OneFile (requires SFPL card) This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals covering physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more. It includes full-text of the New York Times back to 1985.

Finding journals and magazines: SF Public Library

The San Francisco Public Library subscribes to several databases. You can browse the whole list here. You will need your library card number and PIN to login. This one will probably be the most useful:

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals.

Finding journals and magazines: Web sites

Google Scholar
This is a great way to discover what articles out there, however finding an article on Google Scholar does not necessarily give you access to it. You will have to make note of articles that you might find useful and look for them in various databases. You can always ask a librarian to help you!

Historical newspapers

Library of Congress: Historical Newspapers
Chronicling America contains archives of US newspapers pre-1922 including the San Francisco Call from 1895 to 1913.

Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This resource allows access to the full archives of the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times.

San Francisco Chronicle (1985 to present)
You will need your SFPL library card and PIN to access this resource. Full text run of the San Francisco Chronicle from 1/1/1985 to present. Note: There is no data for the date range 10/16/1991-12/31/1991.
San Francisco Chronicle (1865 to 1922)
You will need your SFPL library card and PIN to access this resource. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
San Francisco Chronicle 1865-2015
You will need your SFPL library card and PIN to access this resource. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Guide to Researching San Francisco: Finding periodicals

Using periodicals

Finding journals and magazines: UHS databases

Finding journals and magazines: SF Public Library

Finding journals and magazines: Web sites

Historical newspapers