Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to Online Sources: Reference sources

Even in the best of times so much of our lives is online, this includes research! This LibGuide will lead you to great places to find all types of sources online.

Description

This is a guide to where you can find the best encyclopedias to get you started on your research. Encyclopedias will not always have the word encyclopedia in the title and they should never be the main source for your research.

Databases: General

Databases are paid subscriptions. To access these resources you will have to use a link from a LibGuide, Canvas page or provided by your teacher or one of the librarians. You will be asked to login through our proxy server to use databases.

Open Web Sources

Sources can be found on the open web. These are typically free and do not require you to login. You need to be careful about the reliability of sources on the open web. If we recommend a site to you then we have determined it to be reliable. If you find it on your own, please check with your teacher or librarian to verify that it is reliable.

Databases: Art & Music

Databases: In Context

The In Context databases are an excellent place to start research on a person, topic, or event. The pages typically include a reference article that gives a broad overview of the topic, but often includes other sources such as primary source (a source created during the time of the event or person's life) and articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.