Sources for your country background assignment
The best places to start for getting background information on your assigned country are CIA World Factbook, Encyclopedia Britannica, and the BBC. Each source will give you good information for different sections of the assignment - see below for what to find where. You should be able to find all you need in these sources but if you need more information, take a look at the Reference page.
Encyclopedia Britannica
- Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
EVERYONE START HERE
Search your country name and then click on the entry with the country name.
In the table of contents on the left side, click on the + to get the drop down menu and then go to "History." This will give you a narrative history of all the different time periods.
You can also find some of the information you need for your geography section in "Land." Look under the other headings for more useful information.
For Noodletools:
Where is it: Database
What is it: Reference.
Encyclopedia of National Anthems
Encyclopedia of National Anthems by Publication Date: 2015Find your country's national anthem in this reference book. It is only available in print in the library.
You can also hear the instrumental version of your anthem in your country page in Encyclopedia Britannica.
For Noodletools:
Where is it: Print/In hand
What is it: Reference
Transparency International
- Corruptions Perceptions IndexThis shows the perceived level of public sector corruption from 0 (highly corrupt) to 100 (very clean). Use this for government/political information.
CIA World Factbook
Find your country from the drop down menu.
View the details by the Country Flag for more information about this national symbol.
The Country Factsheet covers some of the geography and economic information that you need.
The Africa Demographic Atlas will give you much of the demographic and government/political information that you need.
Keep scrolling down to get more detailed information.
For Noodletools:
Where is it: Website
What is it: Web Page
BBC Timelines and Country Profiles
On this page you'll find a timeline, which will help you with major historical developments. You can also look at the country profile page for your country to get other information.
For Noodletools:
Where is it: Website
What is it: Web Page
Citing your sources
- Noodletools This link opens in a new window
Need more help?
If you need more help you can email:
- The Librarians, Hayley and Nicole
- Your teacher, Jenny or Bayete