What is a secondary source?
A secondary source is one that was created after the event by someone who wasn't there. Examples include books, journals, magazines and websites.
It isn't one that is secondary in importance!
Tips for finding secondary sources
- While you're reading your reference article and primary source, keep a list of keywords to search for.
- Try broad terms eg Immigration and narrow terms eg Border patrol
- Look at the bibliography at the end of the reference article - those might be good sources.
Finding books
Find books in the following libraries:
- Start with the UHS library! We have a lot of books about art and music and might have what you need.
- Next, try the San Francisco Public Library They have far more books than we have including impressive arts and music collections. Remember you can always have books sent to the closest branch to your house or school (the Presidio Branch).
- Check, other local public library systems if they are convenient to you:
Ebooks through UHS
We have two databases which give you full access to academic books:
- EBSCO Books This link opens in a new windowNew to UHS this year, Ebsco Books has more than 200,000 ebooks covering a wide range of academic subjects.
- Proquest This link opens in a new windowYou can search just for books in Proquest by clicking on 'Books' in Source Type when you are searching. Proquest also gives you access to academic journals, newspapers, and magazines.
You can also find books online:
Open Library - you will need to create an account to access these books.
SFPL resources
You will need an SFPL library card and PIN to access these resources. Ask a UHS librarian if you need to get one.
Articles and DatabasesYou can search across all the SFPL databases here, or search in specific ones with the links on the rest of this page, for academic, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Academic Search CompleteThis is a database that UHS does not subscribe to, so you may find articles here that you can't get in our databases.
HooplaYou will need to create a Hoopla account using your SFPL credentials.
Finding journals articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of academic journals offering scholarly research on a variety of subjects. The place to go when your research is well underway and you know what you are looking for.
- Proquest This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text periodicals-- contemporary academic journals, magazines, and newspapers and historical newspapers (New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal).
- U.S. History in Context (requires SFPL card) This link opens in a new windowProviding a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines primary source documents, reference articles, and full-text periodicals and journals.
- Gale Academic OneFile (requires SFPL card) This link opens in a new windowCollection of journals covering physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more. It includes full-text of the New York Times back to 1985.
Historical Newspapers
- Newsbank This link opens in a new windowStudy significant periods in American history through a timeline-based interface. Complete editions from hundreds of U.S. newspapers provide primary source content covering eras such as the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, Roaring Twenties, Great Depression, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Vietnam War, Information Age and more.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal back to the founding of each of the papers.