Using encyclopedias/reference books
Encyclopedias/Reference books help you build background knowledge on your research topic. Below in the left column are encyclopedias that have both general entries on African countries, as well as topic specific entries. In the right hand column are links to reliable websites that have detailed profiles about countries on the African continent.
To review the lesson on when, why, and how to use encyclopedias check out the Canvas History 1 Research Module 4: Using a reference source for research page.
START HERE
The best place to start for getting background information on your assigned country are Encyclopedia Britannica and CIA World Factbook. It is recommended that you use these two sites to learn about your country.
- Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
- CIA World FactbookA US government sponsored site that provides background and history on countries with an eye on political stability.
Encyclopedias/Reference books
Gale collection of African encyclopediasThese 6 Gale encyclopedias all cover different aspects of Africa and African history
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia (ORE): African HistoryThis source has great articles on SOME African countries and topic, but not all. Worth taking a look or asking the librarians to help you search.
Encyclopedia of Africa by Publication Date: 2010Available in print or online by clicking the link above.
Nations and NationalismCheck out this book for an in-depth discussion of nation formation for some of your countries.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- World History in Context (requires SFPL card) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of National AnthemsPublication Date: 2015Only available in print.
Websites
- Nations OnlineThis site has a country profile and many useful links. You may need to use Google Translate on some of the links.
- Translators without BordersShows the language breakdown for a number of countries. Check on the map or drop down menu for your country.
Citing your sources
- Noodletools This link opens in a new windowMake sure you use Noodletools to cite your sources and create a bibliography. There should be a bibliography at the end of each section
Need more help?
If you need more help you can email:
- The Librarians, Hayley and Nicole
- Your teacher, Jenny or Clayton