Reference books & databases
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Africa by Available in the library or online via this link, this encyclopedia offers detailed entries on a variety of topic in African history.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North AfricaThis source has a good overview articles about Morocco and Egypt. Paper copy can be found in the library.
New Encyclopedia of AfricaAvailable in print and online, this encyclopedia addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries.
Websites
Art
- African Art on the InternetA list of links about African art from the Stanford University library. Although it says it is focused on African South of the Sahara there are links to resources all over Africa.
- African Collections at the Michigan State University MuseumSearch your country's name to look at some textile arts.
- The Metropolitan Museum of ArtYou can access full-text books here. This page shows book about West African art, you can also look at books on African art - use the drop down menu under "Thematic category."
Film
- African Film on the InternetA list of links about African film from the Stanford University library.
Literature
- African Literature on the InternetA list of links about African literature from the Stanford University library. Although it says it is focused on African South of the Sahara there are links to resources all over Africa.
Music
- Afropop WorldwideThis site has articles, blog posts, video, and more about African pop from all over the world. From this page you can search the archive by country to see what they have specifically about your country.
- Hip Deep: Audio DocumentariesThis site features several hour long radio documentaries on African music. You might want to check out the following: Africa & the Blues (Mali), Hip Hop Generation in Ghana & Cote d'Ivoire, 21st century Accra from gospel to Hiplife (Ghana), King Sunny Ade Portrait (Nigeria), Nollywood: Nigeria's mirror.
- Frank Bessem's Musique d'AfriqueThis site has pages for Cote d'Ivoire, Mali, and Senegal. There are entries for other countries under "Rest of Africa."
- World Music NetworkCheck out this page for links to essays and information about music from any of the countries assigned. Use the search bar at the top of the page for the best results.
Country specific links and suggestions
BENIN
- Music: Benin article from Oxford Music
- Literature:
- Art: Benin article from Oxford Art
COTE D'IVOIRE/IVORY COAST:
- Music: Cote d'Ivoire article from Oxford Music, Takun J, DenG, Kanvee Adams, Shine P
- Literature:
- Art: Cote d'Ivoire article from Oxford Art; Lina Iris Viktor, Wantue Major
GHANA:
- Music: Ghana article from Oxford Music. Koo Nimo (Palm Wine-Highlife), Reggie Rockstone (Afro-Beat), Amekye Dede (Reggea-Highlife)
- Literature: Ama Ata Aidoo, Ayi Kwei Armah, Kwame Anthony Appiah
- Art: Ghana article from Oxford Art. El Anatsui (contemporary textiles); Wiz Kudowor (painting); Ghanaian Coffin Art
LIBERIA:
- Music: Liberia article from Oxford Music, Takun J, DenG, Kanvee Adams, Shine P
- Literature:
- Art: Liberian article from Oxford Art; Lina Iris Viktor, Wantue Major
- Comment on the effect of the Liberian Civil War on Liberian Artists.
MALI:
- Music: Mali article from Oxford Music, Salif Këita, Ali Farka Touré, Vieux Farka Touré, Rokia Traoré, Toumani Diabaté, Fatouwata Diawara, Amadou and Mariam.
- Literature: Amadou Hampâté Bâ, Massa Makan Diabaté, Baba Traoré, Modibo Sounkalo Keita
- Art: Mali article from Oxford Art, Cheri Samba (mixed media); Malick Sidibé and Seydou Këita (photographers); Abdoulaye Konaté (collage installation); Nakunté Diarra and Kandioura Coulibaly (textile artists).
NIGERIA:
- Music: Nigeria article from Oxford Music, King Sunny Ade, Fela Kuti, Fema Kuti, Bobby Benson, Queen Salawa Abeni
- Literature: Chinua Achebe, Buchi Emecheta, Chimamanda Adichi, Ken Saro-Wiwa, Chris Abani, Ben Okri, Teju Cole
- Art: Nigeria article from Oxford Art, Geneveive Nnaji (Nollywood actress); Pete Edochie (Nollywood actor); Okwui Enwezor (curator, critic); Marcia Kure (painting)
SENEGAL:
- Music: Senegal article from Oxford Music, Youssou N'Dour
- Literature: Mariama Bâ, Ousmane Sembene (filmmaker/author),Leopold Sedar Senghor
- Art: Senegal article in Oxford Art